Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Praying in Advent

IMG_0582.JPGOn Sunday morning I 'did one of my things' whereby I invited people to write, draw or symbolise their prayers for others (or for themselves) on the back of a sparkly gift tag shaped like a tree decoration (I got mine in Wilkinson's in Dibley on my flying visit a couple of weeks back but I'm sure they can be procured pretty much anywhere) and then to come forward, if they so wished, and add their prayer to the church Christmas tree.  Whilst this took place we sang over and over the Taize chant 'In the Lord I'll be ever thankful.'

I was thrilled with how many people took part in this act of worship, and how varied and lovely the prayers - the invitation to draw or symbolise prayers is always amazingly liberating for people who are shy of speaking them out, even in writing.  One person commented to me how lovely it was to see the prayers of God's people on the tree.  And the tree does look rather beautiful, I have to admit (despite me almost knocking it over this morning as I moved it to take the photo!).

In a couple of hours we will hold our final Advent prayer lunch, when folk will gather to share a short time of guided reflection and prayer before sharing soup, bread and cheese and donating to Christian Aid.  I have loved every moment of this, as I used to 'down south', from preparing the liturgy to setting out the room and buying the bread.  Michel Quoist, the French worker priest observed that the whole of life could be a prayer - which is as well when I am rushing hither, thither and yon seeking to make ready for a space for stillness (superb irony, eh?).

Today our reading is the mysterious and beautiful prologue to the fourth gospel, as we ponder the miracle of the incarnation.  Whilst buying the bread this morning, I decided to treat us all to some festive biscuits - but the posh supermarket is a bit limited in this respect, so we ended up with a selection of cinnamon, chocolate and oatmeal 'people-shaped' biscuits.  It seems somehow apposite that as we ponder word made flesh we will munch non-gingerbread men.  Just hope there are no high sacramentalists present...!

IMG_0583.JPG

The comments are closed.