Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Christ Reaches Out...

Over at Hopeful Imagination, Lucy a minister who is just under half my age (if I am right I 'double' her next year!) posted a wonderful reflection that 'showed' me a delightful image of Jesus as a toddler in a pushchair smiling and reaching out a hand towards me.  This image has stayed with me, I can almost hear him gurgling with gleeful toddler laughter as he reaches out in that open-handed way toddlers do to embrace a world that excites them.

Then a moment when I was very humbled by one of the people I mentioned yesterday who gave me a Christmas card with a jolly robin singing in the snow.  It was almost as if Christ said to me, "you might struggle to see me, but I see you, and, in this frail, wizzened hand and this wobbly writing I reach out to you."

In the soft, warm, pudginess of a little child's hand, in the dried, cold, thinness of an old man's hand, Christ reaches across time and space to reach us all.

The comments are closed.