Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Frae here tae there...

Last night I went to meet the Girls' Brigade company with whom it has been suggested I work.  After nearly thirty years and several different contexts there was nothing much to surprise me - except I struggled to understand the overall leader whose accent and idiom were something to behold.  If nothing else, working with this community, very different from the one at church, will make for variety... It never ceases to amaze me how in middle class contexts I feel very aware of my working class roots, and in working class contexts feel frightfully middle class: perhaps it's as well I get to encounter both to keep me self-aware?  In the meantime, I have to come to terms with the fact that GB Scotland will require me to completely retrain despite 30 years experience and having been a trainer in England... daft but there I go.  Maybe they'll offer language lessons...?!

The comments are closed.