Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Novel Feedback

Sunday's service went well and my sermon on healing and wholeness attracted some encouraging responses (how lovely it is to get feedback on my sermons that goes beyond "nice service" or "didn't like your 'ymns") and prompted some interesting conversations.  Among these were no less than three people who mentioned novels built around stories of leprosy.  I was intrigued that two of the people referred to the same novel, The Island by Victoria Hislop, which one had enjoyed and the other had really disliked, finding it overly romanticised in its portrayal of Spinalonga, the leper colony off Crete which was only completely abandoned in the early 1960's.  Having bought and read the book, I think the criticism is justified, it is a 'nice' story' but it does have moments that force a brief pause to contemplate the quick reactions and ignorant prejudices of our own time.  We may not send people literally to live on islands to keep minimal risks of infection at bay, but we can all too readily discover our own fears and prejudices when we come face to face with illness or disfigurement.  Alas the second novel I cannot locate - perchance I mis-remembered the title or the teller did, I thought it was called The Cloven Night but web trawls have turned up nothing.  If it rings any bells maybe you can let me know...?

This coming Sunday I am using Matthew 26:6 - 13 complemented by 2 Corinthians 4, treasure in clay pots, and the title 'beauty from brokenness.'  Hopefully it will prove helpful and thought provoking.

The comments are closed.