Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Trains and other good things

I am beginning to wonder if Hyndland railway station is the centre of the known universe!  Five minute's walk from my front door, so the natural start point for my longer journeys. It seems anywhere I might want to get to by train I can do from here, although because of timing issues I have booked some tickets from Glasgow Central instead which will mean taking the 44N bus at odd hours of the day and night.  In which case maybe my house is the centre of the universe as within a minute I can get to the bus stop that will start my journey to anywhere?

Whatever, the reality, I have just booked my train tickets to take me to Birmingham for the BUGB Women in Ministry (WIM) day.  It ought to be called VIK day according to at least one of my friends, where VIK means 'vicars in knickers,' a name we gave to a short-lived group I was part of in Leicestershire.  Whatever the name and wherever the centre of universe might really be, both the location of Hyndland railway station and the WIM/VIK day 'good things' in my world.

Comments

  • That must be costing you a fortune - I checked it from me and it would be £172 and it must be more from you? Do you know who is speaking - the info was very sparse and not enough to encourage me to spend that kind of money for a few hours

  • Hi Julie,
    It's costing about £70 return (two singles, cheapest going). Not sure who is speaking but it's more abut catching up and networking... not so many VIKs in these parts.

  • You live round the corner from me - it's a wonderful place for transport - makes getting out to placements and stuff way easier.

  • Oh th ejoys of living in the south east and having to pay commuter fares for the first part - I can do it around £50 but not arriving till 12! Sorry I will miss you there

  • Hi George - well now you know where I am you can always pop round for caffeine-free beverages and vegan food... even if I am a heretic meat-eating tea/coffee drinker (except in Lent)

    Julie - at least there's Plymouth a couple of weeks earlier... (though I'll arrive late Friday due to avoiding commuter trains from here to London...)

  • Glasgow to Brum is a long way!!!
    I have just put my cheque in the post to be there for the day - first time.
    Look forward to seeing you there

  • Hi Rhiannon,
    Hope you find it worthwhile... I enjoy it as a chance to meet and make friends irrespective of the speakers etc. A long way to go, but (just in case Ruth is reading ;-) ) lots of time to read/work on the train.

  • Ruth is reading - and has to say she isn't going to make it! Yet again, I have organised my life so that I can't manage to meet up with people who might actually know what I am talking about! Something deep seated going on here, I guess.
    By the way, I love VIKs...

The comments are closed.