Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

House as Blessing

Today is the 'grand manse warming party' so I am up early to give the hoover a workout and hide the worst of my untidiness ready for (hopefully) lots of visitors this afternoon. It has been fun choosing food and baking a few buns (that is small sponge cakes like cupcakes, 'buns' seems to be one of those words with umpteen interpretations) which now await icing etc. Thanks to the generosity of someone at church my crockery store has doubled overnight so no shortages there.

This morning I'm half kicking myself that I left at church the book that contains a 'house blessing' liturgy, which it would have been nice to incorporate at some point. (I guess I could google one but it wouldn't feel the same). Never mind, it can be done some other time, when I do remember to bring the book home, or I can improvise.  More important is that the house is a blessing, a place of welcome, a place of safety, a place of laughter, a place of joy, place to relax and a place to grow.  That's really my prayer for this house - one that can be spoken at the threshold but is only made in the living - even if there is dust on the shelves and clutter in the hall!

Comments

  • House blessing - you're a Baptist - extemporise.

  • Indeed.

    Actually it was so much more wonderful even than that... a house alive with visitors for around 7 hours. Among the many and wonderful house-warming gifts an Irish house blessing written and decorated by hand in a frame adorned with glitter and stars by two little girls (and their Mum).

    God bless the corners of this house and be the lintel blessed: and bless the hearth and bless the board and bless each place of rest; bless each door that opens wide to strangers and to kin; and bless each crystal windowpane that lets the starlight in. And bless the rooftree overhead and every sturdy wall. The peace of man, the peace of God, the peace of love to all.

    Fantastic!

    I had a great day and I hope the 30-40 folk who passed through had fun too. I have (at least) 12 baskets of left over goodies and now appreciate the blessing that is called a dishwasher.

The comments are closed.