Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Hebrew Midwives?

Just a quick post today as Holy Week preparations are keeping me pleasantly busy.

At last night's Lent Meeting both small groups asked the same question - were the Hebrew midwives of Exodus 2 Hebrew or Egyptian?  I must admit I've always understood them to have been Hebrew but I guess it is plausible they were Egyptian midwives-to-the-Hebrews.  Having done no Hebrew at all, the limit of my check with the interlinear confirms mention of their Hebrew label but not what it means.

From the context I reckon they were racially Hebrew, but maybe, grammatically, another reading is plausible?  So, can anyone who reads Hebrew out there enlighten me/us?

The comments are closed.