Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Making/Discovering Connections

This morning was the penultimate session of the mentor course I am doing.  I was in my element because it was some of the theorectical underpinning which suits my theorist-reflector learning style (based on the Honey and Mumford model).  So it was bound to be fun for me, if for no-one else.

Part of the input was a version of Kolb's cycle for experiential learning, unsurprisingly part of the theoretical underpining of the pastoral cycle. (OK if you're not interested in theory, theology or educational stuff now is a good time to stop reading!).  What leaped out as I looked at the diagram offered was the potential parallel between Kolb's four stages and H&M's four styles of pragmatist, reflector, theorist and activist, which got my creative juices flowing quite well. [As an aside having now just Googled H&M I discover this is not accidental but actually it is a development of K; rats, I thought I'd discovered something].

What struck me especially is that when I undertake pastoral-cycle style exercises the bit I find most difficult is actions phase, or in Kolb's model the 'active experimentation.'  Making the connection that the fact that I am not an naturally 'active learner' may make this almost inevitable was remarkably freeing - I don't need to feel so bad about it.  Likewise, for people who are less naturally drawn to theory or reflection or pragmatism, other stages of the cycle may be more problematic.

All of which seems to be why communal theological reflection ought to be a good thing.  In a group there ought, on balance, to be people whose inclinations and styles fit better to different parts of the process.  If people feel safe enough to enage with the process, aceepting their limitations as well as their strengths, it could be very 'deep' and extremely creative.  The difficulty is, I suspect is that relationships aren't always strong enough, or self-esteem good enough,  to allow this to happen.

If nothing else, the thinking I did this morning makes me feel better about the fact that I'm an implementer-completer rather than an innovator, an energetic team-player rather than a charismatic leader, a reflective-theorist with pragmatic leanings rather than an activist.  And if a bit of theory makes me feel fulfilled then all to the good!

Of course there are zillions of other learning theories and reflection models out there, but for now I'm happy with the connections I made, even if they turned out not to be original

The comments are closed.