Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Minister Formally Known As...

A query arose over the language we use in minutes of church-related  meetings: how should people be identified?  Am I to be called Rev. (or Revd) Gorton or Catriona Gorton or just Catriona?  And does it matter?

It reminded me of the first ever church meeting at Dibley when I was asked what I should be called.  I said 'Catriona, that's my name,' which caused some consternation for those who felt it really chould be Reverend Gorton.  Six years later I had a sly chuckle when one of the most formal of our folk was introducing me to someone: 'this is our minister, Reverend Gorton, but we call her Catriona'

So, if you want to be very formal, I have Rev./Revd before my name and a minimum of 26 letters after it (reduced from 27 when one professional body changed its name!).  Which is of course why I really need to get a doctorate like an additional cranial orifice.

Comments

  • I was upset when I got my MPhil because that meant that I was no longer BA BD - Born Again, But Dubious!

    Revd Timothy Hugh Presswood BA BD MPhil
    (note the use of modern open punctuation)

  • Hi Tim,
    Hmm, Born Again But Dubious... love it. If you can find one for BA BSc(Eng) let me know.

    Scotland seems to prefer Rev. to Revd

    When my name was put on the sign at church someone asked how come I had a BSc in English.... I'm too old to have a BEng they were invented later... all reminds me of the Eng Soc (Enj Soc, engineering) and Eng Soc (Ing Soc, English) confusion at my first college.

  • If we are sticking strictly by convention shouldn't it be THE Reverend as with THE Right Honourable?

    If we are being biblical and properly Baptist (i.e. agreeing with me) ditch it entirely. Too many connotations of a religious caste system for my likeing

  • Thus spake THE Pedant. ;-)

    You'll be happy with the Assembly Programmers lack of title for you then, but not with all those "The Revd"s on the list of those of getting handshaked. I know what you mean and yet...

  • Born Again Baptist Scot (English)?

  • 26 letters? lightweight! i'm currently running at 42 (12 more than my entire name) although i did peak at 51.

  • that was P by the way, not me. I have a mere 25.

    The real elainej (accept no substitutes)

  • It's OK, he types with a Yorkshire accent so I can tell (usually)!

The comments are closed.