Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Dance Settee

So, Trinity Sunday is almost upon us, and with it my service called 'Lord of the Dance.'

Among other things we will be singing the song known in my family as 'The Dance Settee'

When we were small one of us, quite possibly me, but the origins are lost in the mists of time, came home from school and began to sing a song that included the line 'I am the Lord of the dance settee.'  And it stuck.  My nieces and nephews know it by this name, and great care is needed when Gortons and semi-Gortons are present not to slip into this form of words.

So if I mess it up on Sunday, forgive me.

Comments

  • You're the second family I have come across using this Mondegreen. Sofa, so good!

  • 'Couched' very well!

    Did you see tonight's One Show? It was about Mondegreens and why they think we hear them. Just a shame they didn't mention the term or its origin.

The comments are closed.