Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Other: Please Specify

I have just completed an online questionaire that was collecting, amongst other things, religious affiliation.  The options for Christianity were:

  • Christian: Church of Scotland
  • Christian: Roman Catholic
  • Christian: other please specify

I think what struck me was that if, for example, you were Muslim you weren't required/desired to indicate whether Sunni or Shia or if you were Jewish there was no need to state orthodox, liberal or reformed.  So I think I may have to stop being a Baptist and be an 'other please specify' instead.  All of which vaguely reminds me of a tale I heard of church parade of National Servicemen (I think) which ran something like this: 'Catholics to the right, Anglicans to the left, Methodists and other fancy religions stand fast.'

The comments are closed.