Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Better than a stick of rock...

001.JPG

One of our overseas young people yesterday returned from a two week visit home with this gift for me.  I've never before seen commerical gifts for the pastor (though I've had one or two 'pastor' Christmas cards) and I was really touched by his thoughtfulness.  I think it's a intriguing comment on how 'pastors' are viewed in another country/culture.

Comments

  • A gentleman from Malawi with skills, expereience and education beyond mine finds it very hard that he has to call me "Andy" instead of "Mr Jones" (because I'm older than him) and Andy instead of "Pastor" or "Reverend Jones" (because of the respect due to me as a church leader).

    My attituude to this has a lot of cultural "Hey dude, Mr Jones is my father" about it and a lot of counter-cultural "Leadership is about servanthood not status" stuff as well. But as you say it's intriguing how pastors are seen in other cultures and to wonder how my different cultural assumptions and theological convictions impact the spirituality of others. Helpful challenge or nasty shock?

  • We have a mutual friend, a Barbadean formeer bus-driver cum undertaker's asssitant, who used to ask me for permission to go on holiday if meant missing church...

    My one concern for the young person alluded to above is when they return home and slip into British ways. It has been quite nice being called 'Reverend Catriona' by this person for whom anything less would have been seen as disrespecting me (oh dear, a certain comedy character has just come into my mind.... am I bovvered? No but yes but no). Hopefully Pastor Whoever-it-is will be gracious...

  • This 'being all things to all people' keeps you on your toes doesn't it?

The comments are closed.