Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

After the sun the rain....

It is raining in Glasgow this morning.  Tapping at my laptop whilst waiting to take my car literally next door for its MOT I can hear the swish of cars passing by.  Often when it rains I recall a little song we sang in primary school:

 

Glad that I live am I,

That the sky is blue;

Glad for the country lane

And the fall of dew.

After the sun the rain,

After the rain the sun:

This is the way of life

Till the work is done.

All that we need to do,

Be we low or high,

is to see that we grow

Nearer the sky.

 

I know nothing more about this song's authorship or origin and I'm too lazy to check right now.  It's clearly Victorian and, like All Things bright and Beautiful seems to accept as part of the divine order a near caste system no longer recognised.

After the sun the rain, after the rain the sun... each is needful in the cycle of life.  We tend to like sun and mutter about rain, but each is essential.  On Sunday evening our thoughts were guided to think of the cycles of life and of our need for pause within the busyness.  Rhythms and routines, predictable and variable... life in its fullness.

As it happens I quite like rain, and once my car has been dropped next door I will walk through it to begin what, for now anyway, is a typical Tuesday.

Comments

  • Glad that I live am I by Lisette Woodworth Reese, born at Waverley, Baltimore, Maryland, USA. Teacher of English literature in Baltimore, USA. Lyrical poet. Publications include 'A Branch of May', 1887 and 'Pastures', 1933.
    Died at Baltimore, Maryland, USA.

  • Thanks Bob.

The comments are closed.