Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Mildly Mischievous

If this is too mean or unfunnyplease assume it's a side effect of low dose sedatives to overcome sleep deprivation and then you might feel more forgiving.

It seems to me there is a certain similarity bewteen the averge small Baptist church and the breast clinics I am starting to frequent - each seems to consist predominantly of women compared with whom I, at 47, am young.  That appeals to my perverse sense of humour.

As the nurse was explaining to me all sorts of stuff yesterday she said that there is one drug cocktail they may elect to use at some point which can cause nail loss, but that this can be prevented by wearing nail varnish, the darker the better.  This caused much amusement as we imagined me  as the Goth Baptist minister with black painted fingernails.  I appreciate that a hijab could/would be mis-understood, but part of me thinks hijab (with a nice text embroidered on it obviously), black nails and an above the knee skirt (a Dibley in-joke) would be quite fun.

Comments

  • I look forward to the photo! I often wear dark nail varnish and scandalised certain folk but I draw the line at above the knee skirts nowadays - don't want to scare the natives!

    BTW: I am being plagued by medical sales comments on my blog and I can't find a way of stopping them other than just removing them - I seem to remember you had a similar problem a while back - any tips?

  • Ah but my knees are gorgeous - they must be they used to distract members of my congregation.

    Anyway, wrt comments, I usually go into the edit comments bit, click the check box and then the 'ban and delete' which means that that IP address cannot comment again. They are cunning though, they clearly have lot sof Ip addresses and are paying people to comment on blogs, so it takes a few goes to get rid of any given site.

    New photos will appear soon - already a few changes taking place!

  • What a quirky sense of humour this post shows! I LOVE the thought of black fingernails etc!
    My thoughts are with you as you face this new challenge in your life.

  • I have friend who wears - it may possibly now be wore - nail varnish in liturgical colours; so, if they serve you this cocktail in Lent or Advent, you are well set for deep purple....
    And you could turn the wearing of varnish into a taking care moment, by going and having a manicure and somebody else to do it all. Handmassage, which might be included, is deeply relaxing, and bnearable even for touchophobes like me!
    See you in a couple of weeks

The comments are closed.