Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Of Red Duffle Coats and other Frivolous Indulgences

We all get lots of circular emails that are a bit kitsch that purport to be written by people regretting things they didn't do and now can't.  One I had forwarded to me a few months back talked about using the best china whilst you could (and of course if you don't it decays in the cupboard anyway) or driving with the windows down on sunny days or eating ice-cream in the park in winter  and so on. It was a tad mawkish but its sentiment rang true - we all (I think) put on hold the frivolous and the indulgent in favour of the practical and purposeful.

So, today I bought a red duffle coat.  For years I've looked at them and then settled for something in a nice sensible shade that would be suitable for work or for formal occasions and didn't, when it got a bit worn, make me look like some long lost relative of Paddington bear.

I am fortunate to be able to wear strong colours and along with 'peacock' shades of blue and green, I love red.  So this winter I shall wear my red duffle coat (with its nice warm hood to protect my head from draughts) and the next, and the next and the next and so on, until even Paddington would give me a hard stare... by which time I will have left far behind me the turn of events that prompted me to abandon my usual practical modus operandum and choose it in the first place.

What's your frivolous indulgence?  And why haven't you indulged it? (RNR as we used to put on correspondence on my industry days)

Comments

  • And what's wrong with Paddington Bear? He and I share a birth place so don't insult him! ;-)

    I love red and you will look fabulous as well as protected form those harsh Scottish winters ( or should that be all year round?) I'm a soft southerner!

  • I finally bought a pair of red clogs in Sainsburys on Saturday to replace my aged [and very worn out] dull beige ones. They make my feet feel very happy, and I skip a lot whilst wearing them. I have been dithering about replacing the old ones for about a year, and I am glad I have done it!
    Enjoy your red duffle coat
    Can I knit you a stripy bobble hat to go with it??

  • I remember commenting on your red shoes at your induction, along the lines of "some day I will have red shoes too". Mine would have 3inch heels and I would miraculously be able to walk elegantly in them despite my odd feet, dodgy knees and bad back!!

    Sadly, sensible me always wins in the shoe shop....

    Isnt it funny how red seems to be a theme here? wonder why.

  • What a lot of scarlet women we are!!!!!

    Ang, thank you, that'd be lovely.

  • Just don't keep marmalade chunks in the hood or under your hat

The comments are closed.