Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Excuses, Excuses

Just in case I didn't have enough to think about, the Scottish legal system decided it would be fun to pick my name out of their hat for jury service availability.  Unlike the English system (as I experienced 20 years ago) you aren't sent a fortnight in which you must be available, you are simply told they need you to be on standby for two years.  English law changed a few years back to remove the 'inelligiblity' of clergy for jury service; in Scotland I am eligible but have the right to be excused.

So, I am now awaiting a medical certificate from my GP to support my request to be excused - and will give them the double whammy that, even if I am fully fit within that time I'm a clergy-woman so am entitled to be excused anyway.

Wonder how many letters they get with two reasons to be excused?!

Comments

  • Like to photo but still waiting for the Goth version!

    Tony has been called 4 times to jury service ( he did it three times as one was within two years) He has been called at every house we have lived in so is now awaiting his 5th request! ;-)

The comments are closed.