Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

What Job's Comforters Got Right

I'd love to claim this was an orignal thought but it isn't.  Unfortunately I can't remember where I came across it so I can't give credit where it's due.  Job's friends get a bad press, and God doesn't seem to have been impressed by them, but one thing they got right... and it's easily missed.

Job 2:13 "They sat there on the ground with him for seven days and seven nights without saying a word, because they saw how much he was suffering." (GNB)

One thing that seven years of pastoral ministry preceded by four years of training has taught me is the value of sitting in silence sharing the bewilderment.  So often there are no words that can be spoken, but knowing that someone - sometimes me, sometimes you - is there makes all the difference.  And Job's friends canonise the rightness of that, whatever else they may or may not have done.

Comments

  • No comment!

  • Wish I was close enough to just sit and walk with you but I know there are others who will. Confess Jim and I did chat about you and I felt confident about the care you are and will receive - not that I doubted be. His paper was awesome! So privileged to have met, talked with and had my theological brain stretched.

  • You are sitting/walking with me. It's not about physical proximity it's about attitude of mind... being bewildered (or whatever) is more OK when you know there other people are being bewildered (or whatever) with you

The comments are closed.