Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Watching the Sunrise - A Hymn

Today I just want to share a hymn I have loved since I learned it from the Roman Catholics amongst whom I spent a year of my training time a decade ago (where did the years go?).

In recent weeks I've watched quite a few sunrises (made better by the fact that they are now happening later so they no longer have anything to do with insomnia) each beautiful in its own way, and today's was epesically lovely.

The first verse of the hymn has always intrigued me, with its hints of struggle (shadows) in even the brightest of days.  It seems to be a popular choice for RC funerals, yet it also has echoes of the more familiar 'Lord of all hopefulness' as it takes the singer/reader through the day as well as, metaphorically, the whole of life.

Enjoy.

I watch the sunrise lighting the sky,
Casting its shadows near.
And on this morning, bright though it be,
I feel those shadows near me.
But you are always close to me,
following all my ways.
May I be always close to you,
following all your ways, Lord.

I watch the sunlight shine through the clouds,
Warming the earth below.
And at the mid-day, life seems to say:
'I feel your brightness near me.'
For you are always close to me,
following all my ways.
May I be always close to you,
following all your ways, Lord.

I watch the sunset fading away,
Lighting the clouds with sleep.
And as the evening closes its eyes,
I feel your presence near me.
For you are always close to me,
following all my ways.
May I be always close to you,
following all your ways, Lord.

I watch the moonlight guarding the night,
Waiting till morning comes.
The air is silent, earth is at rest-
Only your peace is near me.
Yes, you are always close to me,
following all my ways.
May I be always close to you,
following all your ways, Lord.

John Glynn (b. 1948) © 1976 Kevin Mayhew Ltd
9 6 9 7 and refrain

Comments

  • That brings back great memories of my teaching days ! It was the hymn our yr 6's always chose fore the leaving assembly and everyone was always in tears. Made worse by a teacher dying and it being used at her funeral!

  • Same for me, I have an almost physical reaction to that song. I love it, but it has some really bittersweet memories attached to it.

  • Thanks for sharing this I've not heard of it before. Just listened to it on youtube with some lovely guitar playing; it is a wonderful hymn. Thanks.

The comments are closed.