Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

One More Step...

Sydney Carter's much maligned, oft derided, pejoratively dismiised as a "children's" hymn, 'One More Step' comes to mind this morning:

One more step along the world I go,
One more step along the world I go.
From the old things to the new
Keep me travelling along with you.
And it's from the old I travel to the new.
Keep me travelling along with you.

Round the corners of the world I turn,
More and more about the world I learn.
All the new things that I see
You'll be looking at along with me.
Chorus

As I travel through the bad and good
Keep me travelling the way I should.
Where I see no way to go
You'll be telling me the way, I know.
Chorus

Give me courage when the world is rough,
Keep me loving though the world is tough.
Leap and sing in all I do,
Keep me travelling along with you.
Chorus

You are older than the world can be,
You are younger than the life in me.
Ever old and ever new,
Keep me travelling along with you.
Chorus

Sydney Carter (1915-2004) © 1971 Stainer & Bell Ltd.
9 9.7 9. & Refrain

Today there are new steps to take, another 'bend' to negotiate on my up hill climb and another 'stile' to get over.  A busy day in prospect with the hairdresser in the morning and the chemotherapist in the afternoon.

So, I'll be rounding a corner in my little world and seeing 'new things' (Just what does my totally naked scalp look like? Hmm!) but here's the important reminder... God travels that journey with me and sees things at the moment I see them, sharing the emotions, holding my hand if needed and hopping with me (the alternative version of 'Footprints') along the beach.

Sometimes, you know, I think it's the kiddies hymns we deride the most that contain the most profound theology...

The comments are closed.