Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

10/10/10 - Random Stuff

Today is 10/10/10 and people are getting into all manner of tizzes (however that is spelled) about it.  I preferred the jocular approach of Radio 2's early show which I was listening to between 5:00 and 6:00 a.m. this morning finding ten-uous links for songs that could be linked to the theme.  Someone emailed in to point out that 101010 is binary for 42, so a link with the Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy where 42 is the answer to 'life the universe and everything.'

Moving on my own thoughts, I recalled (I think) that in this series of stories the earth was controlled by the white mice... which moved me onto thinking about lab rats and animal testing in all its controversy.  So here's the thing - the drugs that will treat my cancer were orignally tested in mice - so today I want to say 'thank you' to the mice (and other animals) whose lives were sacrificed for my benefit and that of people like me.  Not all animal testing is justified, in my view, but simple answers to complex questions are rarely good answers but on this day of 10.10.10 or 42 or whatever it really is I am glad that people are willing to wrestle with their consciences in ascertaining a midlde course that benefits so many people.

Of course today the Micah Challenge campaign to encourage Chrisitans worldwide to campaign for the fulfilment of the Millenuium Development Goals to be honoured takes place.  Against a background of global economic 'crisis' such commitments are easily compromsied or curtailed.  it is good to reminded of them and to consider our own attitudes and actions.

Maybe 10.10.10 could help us better consider 42... life, the universe and everything

The comments are closed.