Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Happy New Year...

... to all Celts who happen to be reading.

Not entirely sure of the pronunciation of Samhain, the Celtic name of the festival subsumed first by All Hallows and then by Hallowe'en/Halloween, but it marked the start of the new year for the ancient Celts and, indeed Samhain remains the Celtic name for November.

The ancient missionaries new a thing or two about inculturation - how to look and listen to local custom and practice and spot the echoes and glimpses of what is spoken more profoundly in their Christian experience.  For ancient Celts the end of the harvest and cleansing of the earth with bonfires (hint - where do you think bonfire night comes from really?) coincided with the darkening of the year.  As the natural end of the growing cycle came and with it the slaughter of animals for food (hence the bone-fires), so there was a sense of 'thinness' between life and death, this world and the next.  Enter the Celtic Christians and, later, the Romanised Christians who developed the feasts of All Hallows and All Souls, commemorating and, in a more literal sense of the 'communion of saints', connecting with the 'faithful departed.'

For those of with strong protestant heritage such festivals are a little uncomfortable, yet I think they do have the potential to to remind us of important truths - our interconnectedness with the rest of creation, of the whisper-thin veil between life and death, of our own mortality, of those who have gone before us, saints official or unofficial, and of the new beginnings that can be marked on any day of any month.

Among our songs today is a childhood favourite of mine, which reminds us of the ordinariness of God's saints who we can encounter anywhere, "I sing a song of the saints of God".  Unfortunately the words aren't in HymnQuest but it can be found at

BPW 248 (the red Baptist book)

BHB 259 (the green Baptist book)

JP 115

Sunday School Praise 453

Fresh Sounds (if anyone still has a copy!) 85

BBC Hymnbook 353

plus one or two others.

 

It can, however, be found online if you Google it, here's a Americanised version which does, alas lose my favourite lines about meeting saints "at school or in shops or at tea" and that they "began just like me" but it's not bad.

   I sing a song of the saints of God, 
patient and brave and true,
who toiled and fought and lived and died
for the Lord they loved and knew.
And one was a doctor, and one was a queen,
and one was a shepherdess on the green;
they were all of them saints of God, and I mean,
God helping, to be one too.

They loved their Lord so dear, so dear,
and his love made them strong;
and they followed the right for Jesus' sake
the whole of their good lives long.
And one was a soldier, and one was a priest,
and one was slain by a fierce wild beast;
and there's not any reason, no, not the least,
why I shouldn't be one too.

They lived not only in ages past;
there are hundreds of thousands still.
The world is bright with the joyous saints
who love to do Jesus' will.
You can meet them in school, on the street, in the store,
in church, by the sea, in the house next door;
they are saints of God, whether rich or poor,
and I mean to be one too.

If you don't know it you can listen here

PS In the unlikely event that any trick or treaters knock my door tonight, I might 'treat' them to the 'trick' of taking off my headscarf... cue mean cackling laughter.

Comments

  • Like you, I love this hymn. But in Openshaw we don't have many shepherdesses! So a few years ago I re-wrote it for an urban context. It can be found in Crumbs of Hope, but here are the words anyway:

    The Saints of God

    1. I sing a song of the saints of God,
    Patient and brave and true,
    Who toiled and fought and lived and died
    For the Lord they loved and knew.
    And one was homeless, and one was old,
    And one was a traveller in the cold:
    And with God by my side all the way I'll be bold,
    For I mean to be one too.

    2. They loved their Lord, who gave his life
    And his love made them strong
    And to follow his way was their delight
    Though they sometimes got it wrong.
    And one was a minister, and one was a nun,
    And one was a child whose life was just begun,
    And with Christ before, the race I'll run
    For I mean to be one too.

    3. They lived not only in ages past,
    There are hundreds and thousands still;
    Though the road may be rough and the workers few,
    Who seek to do Jesus' will.
    Yet still they are here and they urge us on
    Whether young or old, whether here or gone,
    For the saints of God look like you and like me
    And I mean to be one too

    ©Clare McBeath & Tim Presswood, 2006

  • Thanks Tim, to my shame I'd forgotten about this version in your book which resides in my office at church.

    Not many shepherdesses in Glasgow either, but as we gather just off 'Sheepfold Street' maybe there's a nominal link?!

  • it's pronounced sa-wen
    and as a Celt Christian, it matters.
    And I love that hymn, and usually try to get it in somewhere at this time of yaer. Tho, my mother did make it a little hard for me in pointing out the lines - "and one was slain by a fierce wild beast and there's not any reason no, not the least why I shouldn't be one too" were rather too accurate when I was in one of my teenage rages... : )

  • A song for next year - thanks Tim and Clare

    we did cafe church on Saints this morning and it would have fitted nicely! We even lit tea lights to remember the saints that have gone before us!

The comments are closed.