Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Catriona's Crazy Clinical Trial

A while ago I mentioned that at some point my treatment might see a change of drugs to a regime that *may* (for which read *will*) cause nails to fall off because of interruption to the growth phase and increased photo-sensitivity. The recommended means of reducing/preventing this is to paint your nails with dark nail varnish

Having seen my oncologist this week, it is now "quite likely" that this change will occur so I thought I ought to conduct my own clinical trial of nail varnish ahead of time, I mean I wouldn't want to discover that the varnish itself causes my nails to drop off would I?  So today a trip to the local branch of "Amazing Pharmacy Products" to pick up four colours - enough, I deemed for my trial.

So, the first stage of the trial demands certain assumptions for it to be possible...

  • that left and right hand nails will behave the same way
  • that finger position is not significant
  • that toe nails will behave the same as finger nails (cos I'm too lazy to paint 20 nails just now!)

Each finger nail is painted with a semi-randomised choice of polish.  It has to be semi-randomised - I need symmetry between hands or I get stressed (I know, on the spectrum blah blah..)  With four colours it means two nails on each hand are the same colour, maybe I should have had five but I wasn't thinking of that then and anyway it was 2 for £5 so it would have to be four or six...

 

IMG_0778.JPG

 

I opted against a double blind trial - painting nails with both eyes closed seemed just too tricky!  Here we have 'purple rain' 'green with envy' 'liquorice' 'blue my mind' and more 'purple rain'.  Nuff said.

It all looks very silly, not least as I keep my nails very short, they aren't exactly a good shape right now and the medical nail varnish method means you have to ensure you cover the edges as these are the weakest point - beauty treatment it ain't.  The woman who taught me manicure 30+ years ago would freak!

Anyway, phase one of the trial is to ensure that by tomorrow morning I still have nails... OK so we all know I will but this has to be done scientifically... the varnish just might make them fall off.

Not sure I'm courageous enough to go to church with multi-coloured fingers but I just might opt for one colour that matches my outfit...

Comments

  • multi coloured nails have been "all the rage" for a while...... in some sectors of society anyway:-)
    I await the resuls of this 'clinical trial' with interest - not least of all because of the implications for this theory.
    Whatever the outcome - it has given you the opportunity to do something that you may have previously considered "silly" or " "irrelevant".....
    You rock girl!

  • You are such fun, and the gatherers at the Gathering Place are such wonderful people, that you must go with multi-coloured fingers and use your nails as a children's address. You know the kind.... the green with envy finger can't say to the blue my mind finger, I have no need of you.... and how in the Kingdom all are welcome regardless of differences.... green, blue, purple, all welcome ....and that's a bit like..... No. Let's not go there.

    The courage isn't in the multi-coloured fingers - but in the way you are making this journey. Bless you ...and I ain't forgetting a promised cup cake. Will be in touch - a promise and a threat :))

  • LOL. Alas I had already switched to all "purple rain" before I read your comment so that talk will have to wait for another day... but it's fun in its own way trying to find the pastorally senstive middle ground without getting metaphorical splinters from the metaphorical fence!!!

    Not forgotten about the cupcake either... :-)

  • This reminds me of a favourite Tom Stoppard quote [from Rosencrantz] "The toenails, on the other hand, never grow at all!"
    And of my Liz when she was about 5 , watching me doing a hasty repair before church..."Mummy, when I am grown up, can I have some coloured nail varnish for my nails, and not just clear for my tights?"
    blessings and prayers x

The comments are closed.