Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Laugh from Leicestershire

This arrived in an email this morning.  It shows we understand a thing or three in Glasgow...!  (Caution, language hints at the "strong" so if easily offended, look away now.)  Thanks ST in Leics. for the smile.

REQUIREMENTS FOR HEAVEN!!!
HOW TO GET TO HEAVEN FROM SCOTLAND

I was testing children in my Glasgow Sunday school class to see if they understood the concept of getting into heaven.  I asked them, “If I sold my house and my car, had a big jumble sale and gave all my money to the church, would that get me into heaven?”

“NO” the children answered.

“If I cleaned the church every day, mowed the garden and kept everything tidy, would that get me into heaven?”

Again, the answer was “No”.

By now I was starting to smile.

“Well, then, if I was kind to animals and gave sweeties to all the children, and loved my husband, would that get me into heaven?”

Yet again, they all answered “No”.

I was just bursting with pride for them.  I continued, “Then how can I get into heaven?”

A six year old boy shouted,“YE'VE GOT TAE BE F***IN' DEID”

KINDA BRINGS A WEE TEAR TO YOUR EYE.

Comments

  • Thankyou for the perfect antidote to this morning's sermon!
    Am still laughing....

    But I am worried this is going to be yet another thing that makes me laugh at inappropriate moments (eg during sermons) much to the consternation of everyone around ;-)

  • I am so glad you are not the kind of minister who would not include this cos of the language :)
    Have had a difficult "medical" morning and have quacks this pm and this came at just the right time. It is one of those little ditties you just know you are always going to remember to keep you going but you know you'll be grinning over it when you should have a straight face - lol!

  • Hi Lynn and Helen,
    glad it brought a smile to you too. I'm definitely not 'that sort of minister' whatever that sort is!

    Grinning is better than gurning I reckon... take care both.

    Lynn - Hope all goes well the p.m. for you - big e-hugs.

  • Pure Brilliant

The comments are closed.