Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Isaiah(s)

For Advent 2 I am using four readings from Isaiah, the book of, two from "Proto Isaiah" and one each from "Deutero Isaiah" and "Trito Isaiah".  I have chosen the readings for what they say, not which hypothetical prophet wrote them, but am fascinated how the commentaters I have to hand seem almost more obssessed with how many Isaiahs there were than what they/he said.

A lot of preachers I know say that sermons boil down to 'what kind of God' and 'so what'.  In regard to Isaiahs, one or "at least a dozen" as one commentater scathingly critiques the multiple view, I am left thinking 'so what?'  In relation to what kind of God and what kind of message, now that's a whole different matter and one I will devote time to.

If anyone wants to share their pet theories on the number of Isaiahs, rather than the alignment of the prophet's eyes (one higher than the other), feel free to comment. 

Comments

  • Never felt that more than one was needed - often 'different styles' is used as the reason for multiple authors, but I write in many different styles, and there's only one of me. There are so many thematic links that run across the whole book that I find the most obvious explanation to be 'just one author/editor'. And since at this distance I can't tell which of those two options it might be, then I resort to Mr. Ockham and his razor, and go for the simplest option - one author.

  • 'What kind of God and so what' is always the main issue! Everything else is a side issue - hence by struggling with Matt 24 - who is left and who taken - it doesn't matter - who God is, what the love of God has/is/will do and how we act in response is the key
    Does it matter how many authors ? - Its all God's message to us. (interesting though that debate is, though I guess what you see the nature of prophecy might swing it one way or the other: fortune telling or speaking God's word into the current and soon to be future as a way of pulling people and their actions back to God!)

  • Thanks both. Does it matter how many Isaiahs - no! But why do some commentaters get their underwear so entangled defending their viewpoint? They miss the point and the message.

    But I bet we're the only church who'll be using the bit of Isaiah that talks about males with mutilated man-bits that Sunday.

  • Mutilated man-bits. Ouch... my eyes are watering.

    This is (sorry to say) my first visit to your blogsite, Catriona and jolly good it is too!

The comments are closed.