Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Christmas Eve

One of my favourite parts of Christmas Eve is when the shops shut.  Dependent on where you live in the UK the time will differ.  I recall that when I was a child it was usually about 4:30p.m.  As an adult it has been as late 10 p.m. especially if you live near a 'corner shop'.  But whatever time it is, for me the 'magic' starts when it is no longer possible to buy that last minute thing - be it cranberries (as per the rather cheesy song) or a gift for great uncle Wilf who arrived unexpectedly.  The tills stop beeping, the shutters come down and for just a day there is a 'general pause' (yes, I know a few shops open but go with me!) if you don't have it now, you'll have to do without... for me that breings a sense of relief!

As darkness falls, just for a moment things are still, no commerce, no bustle, just a sense of anticipation...

Perhaps we really are on the verge of something special...

May it be so.

The comments are closed.