Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Disorientation - Reorientation

In that way that only God can do, a few things have linked together.  The sermon from Sunday, the BUGB e-news sweep and yesterday's Bible reading which was Psalm 73, a pretty classic 'disorientation' psalm in Brueggeman's scheme.

One of the sets of notes said that the writer was filled with a sense of injustice until he went to the 'sanctuary' (Temple, holy place, presence of God) where he became aware of the ultimate fate of the bad people who seemed to prosper.  Then, it seems, he felt better and was able to re-centre himself Godwards.

I struggle a bit with this.  Bad things happen to good people; good things happen to bad people, so far I agree, it fits my observations.  But  this assertion that it's OK, bad people will get their comeuppance, all too often interpreted as 'they will burn in hell', hmm.  I think I'd rather bad people were enabled to recognise their faults, to repent and to find their hope in the truth of Christ's redemption.

What I admire about the psalm is its brutal honesty, naming injustice, speaking anger, even acknowledging the writer's own 'brute beast' attitude.  But, do I want bad things to happen to bad people?  No.  I'm not sure comeuppance equals justice.

Psalm 73: 16 - 20 (NRSV)

But when I thought how to understand this, it seemed to me a wearisome task,
until I went into the sanctuary of God; then I perceived their end.
Truly you set them in slippery places; you make them fall to ruin.
How they are destroyed in a moment, swept away utterly by terrors!
They are like a dream when one awakes; on awaking you despise their phantoms.

Psalm 73: 16 - 20 CJMG-reorientated

But when I thought how to understand this, it seemed to me a wearisome task,
until I went into the sanctuary of God; then I perceived their end:
God proves his love for us in that while we still were sinners Christ died for us. (Rom 8:5)
One man's act of righteousness leads to justification and life for all. (Rom 8:18b)

If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.
If we confess our sins, he who is faithful and just will forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. (1 Jn 1:8-9)

May they know these truths and "Hear then the words of grace 'go and sin no more'." (words of absolution, Common Worship)

I kind of feel that's more hope-filled without denying the reality of injustice and suffering

The comments are closed.