Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Song for Today

This song was used by PAYG today.  Similar in some ways to the more widely known (in circles I move in) Michael Frye's Jesus, be the centre, which I also like, but this is easier for congregational singing and a tad more reflective...

You are the centre, you are my life,
you are the centre, O Lord, of my life.
Come, Lord, and heal me, Lord of my life,
come, Lord, and teach me, Lord of my life.
You are the centre, Lord, of my life.
Give me your Spirit and teach me your ways,
give me your peace, Lord, and set me free.
You are the centre, Lord, of my life.
You are the centre, you are my life,
you are the centre, O Lord, of my life.
Come, Lord, and heal me, Lord of my life,
come, Lord, and teach me, Lord of my life.
You are the centre, Lord, of my life.
Give me your Spirit and teach me your ways,
give me your peace, Lord, and set me free.
You are the centre, you are my life,
you are the centre, O Lord, of my life.

Margaret Rizza (born 1929) © 1998 Kevin Mayhew Ltd.

Instrumental version can be heard here, words and music in The Source volume 4 and RC and Anglican Hymns Old and New

For those who may be interested the Rizza song was published a year before the Frye one.

The comments are closed.