Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Beware the Irish Stew

A week on from my pre-op visit to the hospital and just about over my cold/infection I have been starting my preparations to enter the 'forest' on 2nd Feb.  As it gets closer I am relieved to say that it is looking a little less dense and dark but every now and then a grey cloud passes overhead.

One of the lighter moments of the visit was that not one but all of the nurses I saw warned me that the food is bad in that hospital, one even saying 'beware the Irish stew.'  I was advised to bring in non-perishable snack food and to get my visitors to bring in sandwiches!

So, yesterday I filled up a plastic tub with my survival kit...

  • a small jar of marmite - surely they will provide edible bread!
  • small packs of Fairtrade cashews, brazil nuts and fruit.
  • small cartons of apple juice (not risking citrus just yet)
  • bottle of elderflower cordial (the only non-citrus dilutable I like) (too big for the box but anyway...)

Obviously I will also be taking a pack of wet wipes, some puzzle books, a novel, a notebook and pens, my trusty Bible (as distinct from a non-trusty one) and my MP3 players.

I wonder what emergency rations/supplies you'd take into the 'forest'?

Comments

  • Ear plugs... 'forests' are noisy places at night!

  • That's very true. Was my Dad's biggest problem when he was in last year. Machines that make noises for no apparent reason.

  • I thoroughly approve of your list - especially the marmite =]

    Ear plugs are a definite must, and, if you're like me and you can't sleep if there's light in the room, then a little eye mask-y thing.

    Another thing I thought of - having shorts (or buying a couple of pairs of cheap boxers) to wear under gowns/nightys can be good. Feels a little less exposing I think.

    My list would have hula hoops on it. But that's just me ;)

  • Thanks all. Along with a few off-blog suggestions I have now added...

    - Eye-masky thing (not sure if I can tolerate it but worth a try) and ear plugs
    - small hand held fan thingy - from Boots, doubles as a torch!
    - Andrex mini loo roll (59p I think, Sainsbury's Partick) as several people have commented on lack thereof or sandpaper texture thereof in 'forests'...
    - Ginger biscuits and plain chocolate digestives.

    Now I just need to magic my bag to a Mary Poppins one to accommodate it all!

    Cheap undies already in the case... a minister needs her modesty intact!!!

    Anything else will have to be sent via my visitors!!

  • p.s. I hate the eye masky things, but I find just laying a long (clean) sock over my eyes is easier to deal with =)

The comments are closed.