Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Jeff Gosden RIP

Today's Baptist Times carries the announcement of the death of a minister who died too young, too soon.  I'm not sure how old Jeff was, but I reckon about my own age.

I met Jeff when we both served on the committee of the Baptist Ministers' Fellowship (BMF), I as area rep for EMBA and he as sector rep for Chaplains.  There was some common ground in that we both trained at Northern (he best part of a decade ahead of me) and that he was chaplain at Northampton General Hospital; at some point he had visited my Mum when she was in hopsital and I am grateful for that, as was she.  More recently Jeff moved to the south coast to take up a chaplaincy role in Taunton.

I knew Jeff had been diagnosed with cancer a couple of years back but had understood all to be going well.

Jeff brought to BMF committee meetings lightness and wisdom, humour and spirituality, important insights from the 'sectors' and a genuine interest in our own pastoral ministries.  He will be missed.

Go in peace, good and faithful servant.

Comments

  • I was Senior Student when Jeff arrived at Northern. He had previously been in business (insurance, I think) and had bought one of the first, biggreybricklike mobile phones which he carried around with him.
    I never saw anyone call him on it.
    Clearly, this was a technological innovation which was doomed never to take off!
    A sad loss.

  • I met Jeff first when he attended my home church in Cardiff in the early 1980's. He was amusing and he and I exchanged Fawlty Toweers quotes. He was in insurance then and he came on a double date with my then girlfriend and now wife. Jeff was usher at my wedding and had amused us a few months earlier at our engagement when he sent us a card that announced:

    "Engaged with HM Coroner"

    It was a card he had made out of one I used to use when parking when I was a funeral director. He was a quiet, shy sort and frequently in the background of the practical jookes I played on my father at the time.

    When Jeff's father was inducted into a church in Cardiff, I hijacked the service sheets and printed 100 with my father's photograph on.....most amusing.

    Rest In Peace Jeff - you made me laugh many times and I fondly remember all the Fawlty Towers we watched together.

  • Thanks both Tims, it's good to discover a little more about Jeff... I can imagine him with the brick phone and saw glimpses of his humour at BMF. I just hope he knew he touched our lives for the good.

The comments are closed.