Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Forest Creatures (3) - Owls

Lots of different owls in this forest.

Firstly the gentle, wise observation owl who spent my night in High Dependency watching over me and checking my obs.  Half-hourly and then hourly obs, coupled with incredibly high winds in Glasgow meant sleep was fitful and evasive.  If I wasn't woken by the automatic inflation of the blood pressure cuff then I was probably awake anyway.  In gentle but firm tones she urged me to 'get some sleep' and the time I was dozing when she came in did minimal obs and tiptoed away just as I began to stir.  This young nurse is doing a Masters in nursing and was keen to research patient experience for her dissertation - something the ethics committee were sniffy about.  A wise owl who wants to learn to be even wiser; a true blessing to the NHS.

The the screech owls!  I soon discovered each nursing team has its own characteristics an done night team was very noisy.  Gales of laughter rang along the corridor from the nursing station, penetrating the closed door of 'room' in which up to four of us tried to sleep.  Across the way an elderly woman with advanced dementia called for her parents, the nurse, her teacher, her friends; I was glad that most of the time I had room mates who would simply observe the sadness of this situation and who had a 'but for the grace of God' attitude to her.  And the lighter moments of the sleep talkers and snorers who has the rest of us rocking with silent laughter.

The forest never sleeps.  A roommate arrived at 4 a.m., someone needed pain relief in the early hours, someone pressed her buzzer what seemed like every hour... and the night creatures busily work.

 

He who keepeth Israel neither slumbers not sleeps...  Thank you God for this truth.

God to who night and day are alike, who created dark and light and declared each to be good, bless the people whose lives are nocturnal as they quietly fulfill the needs of those who wake by day.

The comments are closed.