Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

One Week On

Well, I've been back home a week now, two weeks since surgery, and things are already moving along into the last phase of active treatment.  I have been surprised just how tired I get doing relatively little all day, and more specifically how quickly I get extremely tired once it begins.

I am dutifully doing my physio exercises thrice daily and am steadily regaining flexibility, if not yet strength, in my right side.  One of the exercises I've just begun is called, amusingly enough, 'wall climbing' and I mark each day how far I managed to 'climb' - I have a substantial way to go to get full movement back, but it's improving a little each time I try.  Hair-brushing seems a mean exercise - and the diagram of an Asian woman with a waist length plait doing some of the exercises is insult to injury - but at least I have a sparse crew cut that is slowly thickening.

My brain is still on a go-slow and my memory not as good as usual but I am functioning adequately to maintain independent, if assisted, living.  It is quite strange having a whole church-load of people of standby to help if needed.  Learning to 'be done unto' is not easy but not as hard as I feared - maybe they dampened my 'flipping independent' nature with some of the drugs?

It has to be said, my typing is worse than ever and without spell checks, fallible as they are, would be near illegible in places.

Hopefully in a week or two I will feel more like myself but for now I am a 'tired teddy bear' taking life easy and re-learning how to do jigsaws after a gap of around forty years!

The comments are closed.