Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Stuff 'n' Nonsense

Not a lot to say today - spent half the morning shivering in a cubicle at the hopsital waiting for various people to do various things to me.  Not entirely sure why the waiting room is at sauna temperature and the treatment area rather chilly but there it is.  All is well and everyone was happy with what they saw/did/whatever.

Lots of mildly medical contradictions though...

(1) when I left hospital a month ago... 'keep your arm moving and especially bending and straightening it' whilst 'resting it on a cushion untill the swelling goes down'

(2) in caring for my scars... 'massage them with E45 (or moisturiser) regularly' whilst 'keeping them covered with tape' (the taping is meant to continue for three months to assist in making flatter, smoother scars)

(3) on managing the seroma in my back whilst caring for my reconstruction... 'wear something with lycra to provide pressure on the seroma site' whilst 'avoiding pressure on the reconstruction'  (anyone come across a lycra half-garment?!)

So, today I was injected with what my consultant termed a 'magic injection' which is meant to stop the seroma (which had just been drained) recurring, saw a physio who was as bewildered as I as to the cause for concern over my arm movement five weeks post surgery (she was impressed by my climbing the wall!) and a consultant who was very happy with how my scars are healing.  So, onto mega-stretching arm exercises, needing to find a husband to massage the muscles whilst I stretch them (! that's extrapolated from what the physio said...) and hoping my flatter back stays flatter.

Meantime my hair continues to grow back steadily and I have the cutest little eyelashes you ever did see beneath my gently regrowing Healy-brows (just maybe they'll be a little more ladylike now?!).  All is going well and all medics are happy... a good job jobbed!

The comments are closed.