Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Doing Lent Differently this Year

The first year I consciously 'did' Lent I was 15.  I gave up sugar in tea/coffee (no small undertaking in a family where everyone else had two teaspoons of sugar in everything).  Over the following years the abstentions grew and grew - no sweets, no chocolate, no puddings, no sugar at all, no caffeine.  Each year I collected the money I would/might have spent on these and donated it to charity - SCIAFs 'wee box' idea is not exactly new, though it's a good one.

Yesterday's weekly shop included a pack of dark chocolate digestive biscuits, made by a firm based in Leicestershire as it happens.  So each day I can have just one chocolate digestive (that will be a challenge once the pack is open) as I ponder my many blessings and the temptations that we in the affluent west are so readily seduced by.  I don't think the cost of a pack of biscuits is going to make a good donation to anything, so I will, belatedly, join in with others across Bappy-land doing the Christian Aid 'Count Your Blessings' scheme.

It struck my in an idle moment that I've 'done Lent' for as many years as tradition tells us Jesus lived, so maybe I am entitled to a year off for good behaviour?!

Comments

  • Hi Catriona,

    What a great blog title. I have been following it a while, from various blogrolls, so thought I should stop lurking and say Hi!

    I have never really done Lent, but I now think, like New Year, it is a good time to revise one's life. I am cutting down on internet surfing.

    I think your Lenten discipline is splendidly positive!
    Anita

The comments are closed.