Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Little Firsts

Over the last week or so I have begun to do certain things for the first time since my surgery; things I used to take for granted, and ay do again; things that are usually must a chore but brought a sense of achievement...

Just over a week ago I went a on a train on my own to town - this brought with it that strange blend of excitement and fear that a child has the first time they are allowed to go to town alone, in my case aged eleven on a bus.  The fear of being knocked and hurt, the concerns about the weight of shop doors (hurrah for automatic ones!) and the realisation that self-service restaurants are still 'off limits' when I'm alone as I can't (yet) carry the trays.  But it was good to be out on my own again - it's been a long time.

Last week I drove for the first time, after someone very kindly recharged the battery on my car.  I find car travel very uncomfortable at the moment, even if I am riding in a big flash car with comfy seats, so my little Saxo is not exactly super comfy.  Surprisingly the only bit that caused me 'bother' was reverse parking as twisting round to look over my left shoulder whilst steering pulled at the (pirate sized) scar on my back.

On Saturday I dusted my house and even cleaned my 'little' shower-room.  I hate housework but it was a real pleasure to be able to do these tasks again.  Still at least a couple of months before I'm allowed to hoover, sweep or mop, so I'm very grateful to my 'Mrs Mop'.

Yesterday I made it to church twice.  This isn't a measure of physical strength or flexibility, rather it is about energy levels and stamina.  To have enough brain power to concentrate through two acts of worship was great; to be able to hold conversations and not wilt totally was a bonus.

Funny how the little things can be the ones that end up mattering.

Still a long way to go to restored fitness - and this with a detour via the River of Radiation still to be crossed - but it is good to record the little firsts that mark my recovery.

The comments are closed.