Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Amputee Itch and Other Oddities

Over the last couple of days I've started to experience 'amputee itch' - which is what it says, an itch in the part of you that is no more.  I think it is a sign, along with some new discomfort, that nerves are recovering and renewing themselves.

And two oddities the medics don't tell you and the literature I can find overlooks...

The first is the tendency for LD reconstructions to 'jump' or 'twitch' as the brain tells the muscle to move, not realising that it is no longer in your back but your front.  Evidently this can take a couple of years to settle down as the muscle thins (through lack of use) and the brain eventually works out it isn't doing its job any more so stops sending it messages.  Apparently can be a bit weird if you have a left side version and drive, as changing gear can trigger the effect...

The second is a greater awareness of hot or cold drinks flowing through the oesophagus.  A bit like the effect you get on a very hot day when you drink really cold water.  I thought it was just me until I disovered other people mentioning it too.  It's not unpleasant and I guess in time it will pass into my subconscious.  Just can be a bit odd when it happens unexpectedly.

The comments are closed.