Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Spring Awakening

There is something almost poetic that my hospital treatment draws to its close in the spring - my final 'nuking day' is mid-May by which time the trees will be green and we will have already enjoyed rhodedenrons and cherry blossom.

I am now almost eight weeks post surgery and pretty much back to normal energy and strength levels.  My concentration has recovered (phew!) and I spent most of yesterday working on the faffy parts of finalising my MPhil submission (yes, I know, it's dragged on interminably but I have a good excuse!).  I actually enjoyed writing the extra, administrative, pages and proof-reading my paper (well the part I got through) and concluded I was quite clever once upon a time.

I was intrigued by the 'six week' recovery that was - and usually is - cited for major surgery, thinking it seemed a rather arbitrary figure.  At about two weeks I could not imagine being anywhere near fit at six weeks, but the truth is that I pretty much was... arm movement almost normal, energy levels good, concentration recovered.  All of which makes weeks 7 and 8 - the gap before nuking starts - all the more precious and special.  A bit of gallivanting (or gadding about, whichever expression you prefer); a bit of thinking and editting of an academic paper; a bit of pausing to admire the view.

There is a sense of spring awakening after winter... I will soon have to start combing my hair (shock horror!) as it grows back steadily... I am walking further and exercising more determinedly... I am longing to get back to work as my mind is filling with ideas...

I am fortunate, in a perverse way, that my 'journey' has largely paralleled the seasons and by summer I will be free to enjoy the sunshine (albeit with lots of sunscreen and long sleeves ever after).

The comments are closed.