Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Abstraction and Entertainment

Well, hopefully that's it!  I have just written the two abstracts (academic and lay) needed for my MPhil submission and sent the final draft to my supervisors.  Tomorrow I will send my 'notification of submission' to the university and then it's just a case of waiting until the permitted date to 'publish and be damned'.

I am clearly amused and impressed by small things these days and, as they used to say in the first company I worked for, 'never mind the quality, feel the width'.  I am secretly pleased that my bibliography runs to six pages (single spaced) as that looks long enough for a submission at this level.  I am also secretly pleased to have nearly 400 footnotes (mostly references)- that makes it seem far cleverer than it is.  And of course I am blatantly happy that I have several diagrams running throughout the submission, demonstrating that you can take the girl out of engineering, but you can't take engineering out of the girl.

Quite pleased that the university is now sufficiently 'green' to allow double sided submission.

Mildly miffed that I'll now submit too late to graduate with my friend who is awaiting her PhD viva just now, but glad that it'll soon be completed anyway.

At 43k words of main text and footnotes (53k overall) it is the size of a modest paperback - I just hope the powers that be are happy with it.

Comments

  • did i hear the word published? where? if i remember rightly your thesis is on baptist history ... if you're looking to get it published, do try the centre for baptist history and heritage series based at regent's park and edited by Anthony Cross.

  • Well Done! I am so pleased that it is done and sent off so that when you have done your river trip you can look to pastures new! ;-)

  • Thanks Both,
    Andy - part of it is already due to be published as Chapter 2 of the BHS centenary volume - I am dead chuffed that it is being included and especially by its location within the book. It is, in some senses an 'unfinished symphony' as it was a portfolio approach to a doctorate which I've had to wrap it up with a whole chunk of work not done, so not sure it would stand publication as a book. There are, I think, a couple of half decent essays in it though!

    Who knows, maybe one day I will get round to having another stab at a doctorate...

  • Glad, some of it is appearing in BHS volume - i'll look forward to reading it. If you think there are some more essays in it, let me encourage you go for BQ or the series I mentioned above are publishing occasional papers, the length of a lecture ... I'm keen where people have done some good work its shared ... too many dissertations see the light of day ...

The comments are closed.