Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Mysteries of Train Pricing

I have just booked some tickets for my train journeys to attend the BUGB WiM day.  It is slightly complicated by the fact that I am staying overnight at either end of the event with different people (my first foray out of Glasgow and its immediate environs in more than 8 months!) so I needed two distinct journeys.  I dutifully typed my stations into the ticket booking site and up popped prices... £92 odd one way and £105 odd the other.  Scandalous, I thought (even if church, not me is paying) so I looked at how the journeys broke down, based on the changes (and the fact that the tickets prices wouldn't allow me to switch trains  anyway).  Simply by taking the same journeys in distinct chunks, picking the trains I'd have to change to along the way, and making part of it a return journey composed of two singles at a price lower than they would have been separately (don't ask me, I don't get it either!) I have managed to 'save' around £70.  That is plain old fashioned nuts - it's not as if I'm trying anything clever like the thing where you don't even get off the train, I'm just paying for each chunk on its own.

So here's the thing... where does that extra £70 go?  Hmmmm.

Anyway, hopefully it'll earn me a few Treasurer brownie points...

Comments

  • I love the fact that this post on train pricing comes just after the one on the Stations of the Resurrection!

  • Ah yes, Isaiah 6:1 - he is high and lifted up and his train fills the Temple... (station, London)

    The oldies are the baddies.

The comments are closed.