Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Three Months...

... since my surgery.  Can't believe how quickly it has flown by.

According to my physio leaflet, after three months 'all restrictions are lifted' and I can use my 'affected arm' as I wish.

So I thought maybe...

  • a part time job with a coal merchant carting round hundredweights of coal
  • a beginners class in caber tossing
  • an acrobatics class in case I'm ever presented with an empty abbey and several yards of inviting red carpet.

In reality, my arm has a great range of movement and is getting stronger, though still 'pulls' if I exert it and stiffens if it is cold or the ambient environs cool and damp.

Only 8 more nukings to go and I'll be done.  Hurrah!

Comments

  • You've come a long way in 3 months, Catriona.

    Interesting how the advice changes over time and what a difference sentinel node biopsy has made. I've always been told by my breast care nurse (as have friends) to go on being careful with my surgery side arm, mainly because I had complete axillary node clearance as was the norm back then. It's great to think that nowadays women can get back to normal more completely.

  • Hi Perpetua,
    I have to admit the above is a bit flippant and tongue in cheek. Although the physio advice is 'all restrictions are lifted' having had axillary lymph node clearance (alas I had three nodes involved), I remain 'at risk' of lymphedema and, like you, I have to be very careful of my 'affected side' for the rest of my life. Also, having had radiotherapy, I am advised to continue to do the physio exercises, at least sometimes, for two years.

    Your advice on drinking gallons of water during nuking has been invaluable - although I've had a couple of short bouts of fatigue, in general I am racing around quite merrily (but sensibly)

    Anyway, just a couple of weeks to the end of 'active treatment' and just the balance of five years of pill popping

The comments are closed.