Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Unique?

For most of my life I have thought my name was unique, at least in a UK context.  The arrival of the internet, and with it search engines led me to discover there was someone with the same name living in Australia.  She was (is?) a lawyer (she seems to have disappeared off the radar of Google).  Doing some half-hearted family tree research a couple of years back I found there was one in the north of England born around 40 years after me.  Now I discover there is another one in Glasgow!

The one on Facebook is not me but she quite possibly does live in Glasgow.  Either that or there's yet another one!

Anyway, the others don't have the same number of middle names as me, and just for the record, I'm the definitive version! At least according to me.

Comments

  • I haven't googled myself since I started at the hospital - but before that I did and was amazed to find a heavy metal guitarist somewhere like Seattle named Tim Presswood.
    We were always brought up to believe there was only one Presswood family in the world (Prestwood is the common variant) - but there are hundreds on Facebook - including African-Americans and Hispanic people who, as far as I am aware, cannot be traced to our family.
    Makes you realise that a/ the world is bigger than you realise and b/ you are smaller!

  • I have discovered there are at two other Angela Almonds - one in Yorkshire, one in the USA - and all three of us are teachers.

    But each of us - whatever our name - is definitely unique!

The comments are closed.