Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Feeling Gallus

Gallus is a good word I have learned since I moved to Scotland.  It is a bit flexible in meaning, but has a sense of rashness about it.  And it is a good word to describe how I feel about heading off on my hols today.  My logical head says this is nuts - I'm going a couple of hours or so up the road and I've been going off on my own all my adult life.  But this is the first time away from home, properly on my own, since last August and it feels almost like the first time again.

I remember the first time I went into town on my own after my surgery - it felt like a big adventure!  Now I'm ready for a bit bigger adventure, so maybe gallus is a good word to use.

Oh, and if you're wondering, I'm not not up in the wee small hours because I'm too excited to sleep, but because after yesterday's brill day at church I was so shattered I feel fast asleep for about an hour then woke up wide awake and convinced it must be morning!  Look on it as empathy with those in the thrall of St Eroid or who are too uncomfortable to sleep.

Comments

  • Hope you have an amazing time and maybe do some things that are gallus along the way! ;-)

  • hahaha....nice one. Hope this word can follow me in my lifestyle.

The comments are closed.