Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Contrasts - Minister as Chameleon

Yesterday I wore jeans and a teeshirt to lead worship, we made bread, we were very informal, and it was fun.

Today I wore a black suit and a clerical shirt for a funeral, we sang lovely old hymns, we remembered and it was sobre.

Each is part of the ministerial task and each is a privilege and, in its own way, a pleasure.

I am sure I drive people nuts with the amount of faffing I do to make sure the place looks its best for a funeral, but I like it to be 'just so'

I know some people really don't like the fact that a minister might lead worship in jeans and a teeshirt (though most are very generous about it on the rare occasioans when I do)

Being a chameleon, blending with the surroundings, being part of what makes the experience safe and effective, this is an important part of ministry.  Perhaps the contrast is most stark when it is beween scruffs and a smart black suit, but it feels right to be able to do these things.  Can't help feeling the Apostle Paul might agree.

Comments

  • Thank you. That entry has been really helpful!

  • All things to all people? By all means!

The comments are closed.