Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

News and Views

Lots of people are making comments on events in the news and lots of opinions are being expressed.

In amongst all the stuff I've seen, nothing has spoken into the situation more clearly or more profoundly than this from Annie

Just over a week ago I was preaching on Luke's parables about wealthy people - the son who squandered his wealth, the manager who feared his loss of status, the nameless wealthy man who chose not to see what was on his doorstep.  As part of that sermon I commented that even people on job seekers allowance are among the top 20% in the world for wealth - even before we allow from free education, free at the point of delivery health care and welfare benefits.  I'm not naive enough to pretend all is well in the UK - I know there are people who go to bed hungry, but at least they have a bed to go to; I know there are people who live with little opportunity to achieve their dreams, but at least they can be reasonably assured of living beyond childhood.

What has been striking, amidst all the mindless violence and looting, has been the response of local communities - people coming together to clean up the mess, to guard small business premises, to speak for the majority of people who just want to get on with their lives.  I am saddened to see places I know and love featured on television for all the wrong reasons but I guess being saddened isn't going to change anything.

A lot of the blame is being put in government spending cuts, which is an easy and lazy response.  Past generations lived through worse hardship without resorting to violence, it is not inevitable.  But those of us who claim to be Christians have to ask ourselves, where is the church and what is it doing?  I know for a fact that in some of these troubled areas churches (and synagogues and temples and mosques) quietly get on with being 'salt' or 'kingdom yeast' (Sunday's parables) to transform them for good.  But sometimes we are more worried about graffiti on our walls, mud on the carpets and smashed mugs or light bulbs than doing what we know we are called to do. 

The Gathering Place is set in a mixed residential and commercial area, wealth and poverty live cheek by jowl, it is slightly shabby, and it is well used by some of the 'least of these' in our area.  When I look at the scenes from London, Birmingham, Liverpool, Manchester, Salford, Bristol, Nottingham, I am forced to say, 'there but for the grace of God, go we.'  If there is a wake-up call from any of this, it is for people of faith/faiths to ask ourselves what we can do locally and globally to work for good.

Two hymns/songs comes to mind as I ponder...

Jesus Christ is waiting,
waiting in the streets;
no one is his neighbour,
all alone he eats.
Listen, Lord Jesus,
I am lonely too.
Make me, friend or stranger,
fit to wait on you.

Jesus Christ is raging,
raging in the streets, 
where injustice spirals
and real hope retreats.
Listen, Lord Jesus
I am angry too.
In the Kingdom's causes 
let me rage with you.

Jesus Christ is healing,
healing in the streets;
curing those who suffer,
touching those he greets.
Listen, Lord Jesus,
I have pity too.
Let my care be active,
healing, just like you.

Jesus Christ is dancing,
dancing in the streets,
where each sign of hatred
he, with love, defeats.
Listen, Lord Jesus  
I should triumph too.
On suspicion's graveyard
let me dance with you.

Jesus Christ is calling,
calling in the streets,
'Who will join my journey?
I will guide their feet.'
Listen, Lord Jesus,
let my fears be few.
Walk one step before me;
I will follow you.

John L Bell (born 1949) and Graham Maule (born 1958) © 1988 WGRG, Iona Community

And this one, especially the first half of verse three:

Lord, thy church on earth is seeking
thy renewal from above;
teach us all the art of speaking
with the accent of thy love.
We would heed thy great commission:
go ye into every place-
preach, baptise, fulfil my mission,
serve with love and share my grace.

Freedom give to those in bondage,
lift the burdens caused by sin.
Give new hope, new strength and courage,
grant release from fears within:
light for darkness; joy for sorrow;
love for hatred; peace for strife.
These and countless blessings follow
as the Spirit gives new life.

In the streets of every city
where the bruised and lonely dwell,
let us show the Saviour's pity,
let us of his mercy tell.
In all lands and with all races
let us serve, and seek to bring
all the world to render praises,
Christ, to thee, Redeemer, King.

Hugh Sherlock (1905-1998) © Successor to Hugh Sherlock/administered by The Trustees for Methodist Church Purposes

The comments are closed.