Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

All Souls

I have to confess I'm never entirely clear on the theological distinction between All Saints and All Souls.  Is the former about 'saints official' and the latter about 'saints in the making'?  Or is the former about 'believers in Christ' and the latter about 'everyone who ever lived'?  And, dependent on our theologies of sainthood and salvation, how do we then mark - if indeed mark we do - this day?

I *think* (and I think the * thingy is meant to be some kind of emphasis type of indication) that saints are those who might be termed 'believers in Christ' and that souls are effectively people.  I also hold fast to the one liner in 2 Peter that it is God's will that none perish... a kind of universalist leaning within God.  It is no secret that I rather hope God is a universalist (and in a very broad sense, scripture indicates that God is... John 3:16-17, God sent his son into the universe (kosmos) in order to save the universe (kosmos)).

[eek, I had a great idea, got half way through the sentence, forgot what it was and now I can't recall it all all!  Long term 'mild cognitive impairment' (aka long term chemobrain) strikes again]

Anyway, I have a sense that All Souls is a gentle kind of a day, one that majors on God's grace, mercy and love rather than God's anger and judgement.

Quite a few folk to remember today who died this year - four associated with the Gathering Place, one from Dibley, and two I came into indirect contatct with via the web.

Also a day to remember those who are sick in body, mind or spirit and to pray for their wholeness.

The comments are closed.