Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

11a.m. 11th November 2011

For those who like palindromic dates and times, or for those who love Pascal's triangle, today is a date in which to revel.  But across the globe it is a day when, on average, 1 military and 3 civilian lives will be lost every hour in armed conflict.  It is not a day to debate the rights and wrongs of armed conflict, it is a day to remember, with gratitude, those, often conscripts rather than volunteers, who paid for our freedoms in their own blood.  It is a day to remember the countless children, women and men who live with the physical and mental scars of war.  It is a day to pray for peace - not mere absence of war.

My friends include pacifists and military chaplains, retired armed forces personnel and anti-war campaigners.  I have worked in defence; I hope I also work for peace.  Do I have an answer? No, not really.  But today, for a moment (or 120 seconds anyway) I will endeavour to stop and think.

red and white poppy.jpg

Remember the Dead

Do not forget the Living

Pray for Peace

The comments are closed.