Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Second Week in Advent: Saturday

Today's verses:

Psalm 40:17

1 Kings 19:9

Romans 8:27

Last Sunday I used the wider passage from 1 Kings 19, and Elijah's depressive experience, as part of our reflection on prophets as people who make discoveries about God's activity or intentionality.  Romans 8 is also a passage I've used quite recently, and it comes right up there in the 'top ten (or at least top 100) best loved passages of scripture.  The psalm is perhaps lower on the list of 'overworked scriptures' and so I've opted to sit with that one, albeit briefly.

Yet I am poor and needy; may the Lord think of me. You are my help and my deliverer; O my God, do not delay. Psalm 40:17

The truth is, by any material measurement, anyone reading this is neither poor nor needy - we have a choice of clothes to wear, cupboards stuffed with food, cars sitting on the drive/road/car park, gifts wrapped ready for Christmas.  We do not need anything.

Yet our poverty and need remains - we may speak of being 'time poor', 'emotionally drained', 'spiritually dry', 'burned out' or many more signs of non-material destitution.  Peace is in short supply - peace of mind about the use of our time, the depth of our relationships, the sincerity of our devotional life, the state of our psychological well-being.  So we cry to God - hurry up!  You are the one who can, and will refresh and renew us, but please, get on with it!

 

You are my help and my deliverer, oh God

You are the one who watches as I burn the candle at both ends

You are the one who notices when I skip a meal or eat junk in order to get more done

You are the one who hears the heart cry of the loved one I am too busy to spend time with..

...And my own heart cry to be with others

You are are the one who waits patiently for me to remember to pray

You are the one who helps me, if only I allow myself to be helped...

Hurry up, God

Come quickly to help me face myself

To recognise my poverty

And seek you help

 

In the meantime

When I make excuses that I am still

Too busy

Too tired

Too indispensable

Too unspiritual

Too hassled...

 

In the meantime

I take comfort in the promise

Of Sophia's intercession:

Holy Spirit of God pray for me                    (Romans 8:27)

Amen.

The comments are closed.