Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lent Reflections (18)

It's Saturday morning, I'm due out for a day's walking and I've already handled a couple of 'crisis' emails (friends not church), so what readings are in store for me in my state of rush today?  I honestly have not looked until now:

Psalm 19
Exodus 19:16-25
Mark 9:2-8

Well... just read them (this is the ultimate in live blogging!)

Exodus 19 has Moses up a mountain with God, and everyone else forbidden from trying to break through the cloud to see God.  Mark has Jesus up a mountain with Peter, James and John and being transfigured.  because its Mark we get the familiar 'don't tell anyone'  Psalm 19 is still Psalm 19, lovely as ever.

Today I am off out walking.  I will be away from church (though not away from church people, it is after all a Churches Walking Club), I will be away from the laptop, I will be away from the phone.  If not impossible, it will be less easy for the everyday to 'break through', as the NRSV phrases it in the Exodus reading, I will have more opportunity for rest and/or reflection and/or encounter with God.

Perhaps that's what I need to hear today.  Perhaps for me it is the 'come apart for a while' that is the message.

 

Come away with me

To a quiet place

Shrouded in silence

Hidden from noise

And be

 

But Lord, my friends needs me

There is work to be done

Calls to make

Emails to send...

 

Come away with me

To a quiet place

Let nothing break through

The cloud of presence

And be

 

But Lord, my mind is whirling

There are sermons to prepare

Prayers to pray

Visits to make

Ironing to be done...

 

Come away with me

To a quiet place

Empty your busy mind

Enter the stillness

And be

 

But Lord..

 

Be

 

But

 

Be

 

...

 

Be

Comments

  • I'm glad you are obeying His call, Catriona and hope you have a truly refreshing day.

The comments are closed.