Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Worth Reading

Today the latest issue of BMS Mission Catalyst landed on my doormat.  It is one of umpteen Christian publications that do so.  It is one of the few I read cover to cover; one of the few that I can say I make time for.

This one is about the Bible and about attitudes to its inspiration, purpose and reliability, to name but three.  Now rocket science it is not, but it does have a level of honesty which some will find discomfiting, especially if they have managed to evade any proper Biblical studies, church history - or even failed to read the stuff that is printed in the back of the Good News Bible I've had since my teens or the beginning of the Lion Handbook.

Trouble is, I suppose, very few people will actually read it.  Those who have a more fundamentalist view will dismiss it as 'liberal' and those who accept probably already know what it says.  It needs to get past ministers (at whom it is aimed) to 'people in the pew'.

Anyway, if you are interested and don't have direct access to a paper copy, you can always read it on line here (though having just looked it hasn't appeared there yet!  It is issue 2/12.  Plenty of other interesting issues to look at in the meantime)

Comments

  • It's great isn't it - thought provoking and intelligent! It's one of the few things I share with others!

The comments are closed.