Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lent Reflections (29)

Today is officially the last day of the fourth week of Lent - we are two-thirds of our way along the path to Calvary.  I wonder if it feels nearer or whether we just feel that life plods along in its familiar pattern? For me, and for other ministers, preachers and worship leaders, the work load is beginning to crank up, in a good way, but if I were still in a 'real' job I've a suspicion my mind would more fixed on some time off after meeting the inevitable spring deadlines than the deep and meaningfuls of Lent, Passiontide and Easter.

So then, today's readings:

Psalm 107:1-16
Isaiah 60:15-22
John 8:12-20

I have to confess that I wasn't too familiar with the Isaiah reading... I recognised it once I got going, and the beginning of the chapter is often used in Advent services.  The imagery of one nation suckling on the breast milk of other nations is, well, not exactly everyday!  As for the breasts of kings, well we'll not push that idea too far...!

The John 8, Light of the World ego eimi (I AM) saying form the link to the Isaiah...

The sun shall no longer be your light by day, nor for brightness shall the moon give light to you by night; but the LORD will be your everlasting light, and your God will be your glory.
Your sun shall no more go down, or your moon withdraw itself; for the LORD will be your everlasting light, and your days of mourning shall be ended.

Isaiah 60:19-20 NRSV

You don't need a degree in theology to make the connection between the two readings.

It's all very wonderful, a beautiful promise, but of course, as I've reflected in previous days, life is not always so lovely.  The Isaiah reading, in its wider context of chapter 60 as a whole is more wide ranging, there is critique as well as comfort.  The John hints at events to come as it observes of Jesus 'his hour had not yet come'.  That. I think, gives us a better, more healthy and helpful way of reading the promises.  The good old 'now-and-not-yet' begins to break in to our understanding.  The light shines in the darkness, the darkness has not not understood or overcome it, and yet, for now, we still depend on created light, pale imitations of the Light.  The sun by day and the moon by night point us beyond themselves to the one in whom they have their origin.

Every now and then, when it's full moon I will spend some time looking at it and marvelling at its beauty.  And on such occasions I will recall other moments in my life when I have done the same - times of joy, times of sorrow, times of fear, times of celebration.  But I go beyond that  to recall that this same moon lit the nights of my forebears, lit the nights of our Christian forebears, lit the night when Jesus prayed in Gethsemane, the night when the shepherds were startled by the angel chorus, etc, etc.  This same moon, this constant reminder of the God who never slumbers nor sleeps.

 

God who made the sun, moon and stars

God who lightens our darkest moments

Light that can never, never be extinguished

That watched over my forebears

And will watch over those who come after I have returned to you

Illuminate my path

Enough to see the next step

Of my journey nearer to you

 

OK, cue soppy song 'somewhere out there' from the film American Tale and cute mice gazing at the moon...

 

The comments are closed.