Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Social Media and Preaching?

An interesting article here (ht Baptist Times news-sweep) but one that leaves me a bit cold, if I'm honest.  I'm all for creative use of technology in the service of God; I am not sure that live tweeting during a church service fits that brief.  I enjoy using images and music and symbols in worship, from time to time use film clips or cartoons but steadfastly refuse to bullet point my sermons (too constraining/inflexible; too much lecture/presentation rather than preaching) and am always slightly concerned at over reliance on technology - if a power cut happens (and they do) what then? 

My big beef with tweeting or texting during services is that people are not fully engaging with what's going on.  I appreciate they may not be doing so anyway - they may equate sermon with nap time, be planning their shopping list or worry whether or not they switched off/on the oven.  But somehow that feels a bit different.

I have seen people texting during services - no names, no pack drill, no churches identified (note the use of plural is deliberate) - and it annoys me.  I have no problems with wandering tinies, can cope with rustling sweet papers, am known regularly to swig water myself, have no issue with people who need to move around or do things to alleviate pain or stiffness, I am fine with people taking notes (though might be a bit freaked if I saw someone get out their laptop or ipad so to do!).  And it's not I that demand total stillness and silence.  I just have a suspicion that tweeting and texting may fit in a different category that is less God-centric and more ego-centric.

Feel free to disagree (I know some of you will :0) )

Comments

  • I know of one minister who asks for texts during his sermons! Then he is able to respond when they have a question or comment!

  • I would find that distracting, and not be concentrating properly. Is this during the sermon or afterwards?

  • PS congrats on posting a comment over ~ fifty characters!!

  • from what I gathered it was during!

The comments are closed.